National Teacher Award 2020

National Teachers Award is the governmental award to the teachers awarded by the President of India on September 5th. Every year on this special occasion of Teacher’s day government of India acknowledge the brilliant, commendable and noble teachers who are working in Pre Primary, Primary, Secondary and Higher secondary school in India by an award. The National Teachers Award began from the year of 1958. In the year 2015, the government also includes a special category into this award for University teachers which is called Inspired Teacher recognition.

Announcement Of National Teachers Award 2020-

On the last Friday, the Union Ministry of Education declared the list of teachers who have been chosen for prestigious also reputable National Award To teachers 2020. This year around Forty-Seven teachers is selected for this National Teachers Award from several parts of India. On this ongoing forty-seven teachers are felicitated and Union Ministry of Education announces their name too.

Boards Under National Teachers Award 2020-

This National Teachers Award under felicitated all the teachers under state board, ICSCE, CBSE including  CTSA, KVS, NVS, Sainik School, and school run by Atomic Energy Education Society.

Total Awards and  Special Category-

There are 366 awards in this genre out of which 20 are engaged for special Categories such as Arabic, Sanskrit, Persian teachers.  Every state and Union Territory has a quota based on the number of teachers.

In the Year 2001, this National Teachers Award includes 33 special awards for the teachers who are promoting integrated inclusive education in the school. Also, for the teachers who are taken care of the education of children with disabilities in the school by States/UTs and other school systems.

Process Of National Teachers Award-

There are some categories based on that government give the awards. Those categories are –

a)Teachers who have disabilities still working in regular schools.

b)Special teacher or trained general teachers who may have done outstanding work for Inclusive Education.

These selections are made by the some State Level Committee and the Central Award Committee. The names of the teachers are sent by the Committee by the State Government in the scale of merit. The Government of India takes the final decision on the basis of merit.

This year selected award recipients by the Education Ministry along with the Department of School Education and Literacy constituted an Independent Jury at National Level, said an official release from the Ministry.

The Independent Jury reviewed almost the list of One hundred and Fifty-Three teachers. And from that list, they select Forty-seven teachers among them thirty-six are from state and seven from Union Territory.

More than 50,000 Chinese smartphones with Built-in Malware sold in African countries

National Teacher Award 2020  process of selection-

Ministry revealed that due COVID-19 pandemic committee shortlisted teacher via Virtual Conference. The Jury examines all the applications and presentations created by the shortlisted teachers and after the detailed review, the Jury selected those Forty-Seven names of the teachers for awards.

Prize of National Teachers Award-

The reward of the National Teachers Award is a medal, a Certificate, and also prize money of Fifty Thousand.

New rules-

In the year 2004, the Government of India has also approved that one of the family members can stay and also treated as a state guest of the awarded teacher while the felicitated function in Delhi. All their expenses will be borne by the department.

Teachers from Kashmir who own National Teachers Award this year-

Those who Forty-seven selected for the National Teachers Award 2020, two of them are from Jammu and Kashmir. Their names are Roohi Sultana from Srinagar and Sunil Kumar from Udhampur for this precious award of 2020.  Union Ministry choose both of them. Sunil Kumar is a government  School teacher. According to the Report of Republic World he reacted in this news and said  “As schools remain closed, I’ve been giving lessons digitally and also organizing community classes. Education is the key to a better future.”.   On Saturday Governor K.K Sharma advisor to the Lieutenant congratulated the teachers for their immense success. He also added this award given to them is the ratification of the outstanding work done by them in imparting education to the students and also being the role models to the student community.  He also mentioned this award is a morale booster of society. This award creates strive to contribute their best in the field of education.

Teachers from North- East who own National Teachers Award this year-

From North East, few teachers have selected their names are- Goutam Dev Sarma, Teacher of Govt. H.S. and M.P. School in Kokrajhar, Assam, Sanjay Das, Teacher at Tilabazar HS School, Tripura, Rahul Sankar Chatterjee, Lecturer of Shillong Jail Road Boys Higher Secondary School, Meghalaya
Archana Gurung, Principal of Govt. Senior Secondary School Jorethang, Sikkim, Lomas Dhungel, Mathematics Graduate Teacher from Makha Senior Secondary School, Sikkim

Some more names who won awards-

The other name who won this prestigious award their names are Nardev Singh from Himachal Pradesh, Sindhu Prabhu Dessai from Goa,  Surender Singh from Punjab, Kewalanand Kandpal from Uttarakhand, Rajinder Kumar from Punjab,  Geeta Kumari from Rajasthan, Manoj Kumar Lakhra from Haryana, Mahipalsinh Sajjansinh Jetavat from Gujarat. All of them are recipients of the National Award for Teachers 2020.

Challenging Situation For Teachers this year-

  This year due to the Corona Virus pandemic so students faced a great challenge, and especially in rural areas. But our teacher’s commendable job save their educations and not only awarded teachers even others also doing great jobs during this global crisis.

Hopefully in the coming schools will reopen. Teachers and students both get back to their favorite nest.

Enthusiasm for teachers-

This National Teachers award creates a special enthusiasm for teachers towards their profession.




Leave a Comment